This village is situated in a rugged but very advantageous location at the center of the Asterousia spine, in front of the peculiar in shape peak of Kophinas. Bare stone is the predominant feature here. The association of the location with its peak determined the nature and history of the peak itself, given that it functioned as one of the many peak sanctuaries on Crete. The deified by the ancient population Kophinas peak retained its devotional character following the advent of Christianity.
The devotional energy which had been accumulating in this place for 50 centuries is still flowing here even today, in the soil and air, leaving its mark on all unsuspecting visitors and guests.
Also, this place has been an important refuge for the Anterrites theologians who made a significant contribution to the Nation and the Orthodox Church. Their activities were centered in this area which now marks the location of the village itself, specifically at the spot where the monastery of "Kyrie Eleison" was later built. In this monastery a prayer was born and recited with the aim to help the mind descend to the human heart and envision the "Unbuilt Light". It was this practice which gave rise to the movement of Hesychasm (eremitic tradition of prayer) and of Mystic Theology.
From the monastery of "Kyrie Eleison" only the church of our Lady (Panagia) remains in excellent condition today. Its unique murals (1402 AD) are painted in the Constantinople style and inspired artistic creations which later constituted the building blocks of Cretan Renaissance.
Following the Fall of Constantinople (1453), the Turkish occupation of the island undermined organized monasticism and the conversion of the monastery into a settlement.
Also, immediately following the "Daskaloyiannis" uprising, a group of fighters from the village of Asfendou of Sfakia established themselves in this area and built the settlement as we know it today. To honour their contribution to freedom in the 19th century, this settlemen.